In Defence of Rory Gilmore

Once in a while every girl dreams of living the life of their favourite TV character. Being invited to one of Blair Waldorf’s sleepover parties, attending a ball with Lady Mary or strolling through the Enchanted Forest with Emma, Regina and Snow… I must admit, from time to time even a serious conversation with Charles Ingalls seemed tempting to me, for as far as I know he’s the only human being that can solve every single problem mankind has ever faced. (Fun fact: I was named after Laura Ingalls Wilder, cause ‘Little House on the Prairie’ was my Mum’s favourite show when she was younger.)

“A dream is a wish your heart makes…” But most of the time these wishes remain unfulfilled, and you’re left alone with the cold reality that desperately needs a repaint à la ‘Pushing Daisies’. In my case, however, things are slightly different.

In Secondary School a friend of mine used to compare me with Rory, and although I always felt flattered I couldn’t really agree with her. Rory was drop-dead beautiful, smart, kind, modest and loved by everybody and I was … well, definitely not ugly, stupid, mean, arrogant or hated, but eh well… HUMAN. Still, Rory was everything I always wanted to be, and sometimes I wonder how different my life would have been without her as a role model.  Would I have chosen journalism, for example? I don’t know.

However, as the years went by, and I was watching Gilmore Girls over and over and over again, I couldn’t help but notice some of the similarities myself. Of course, I loved books, films and coffee, but had Emily and Richard always been that much like my grandparents? Did my father serve Amy Sherman-Palladino as a model for Christopher? Why did I never see the striking resemblance between Luke and my stepfather? And how on earth could it take 10 years for me to realize that Rory’s birthday was October 8, just like mine? Even the boys I liked were similar to Dean and Jess (although I’m still waiting for the rich guy to show up). And yes, my gay best friend’s name is Mich(a)el! All this can be seen as coincidences or maybe it’s just me desperately wanting to be a Gilmore Girl. I don’t know.

Growing up, I started to see Rory’s imperfections, and at least since the revival the tone has changed entirely. Rory is no longer the perfect daughter, girlfriend and granddaughter. People started calling her selfish, spoiled, unlikable, dependent on the people around her. A few weeks ago, I stumbled across this extract from an online article on AYITL.

“A seminal show for many women growing up, the series seemed blind to how terribly entitled and overprivileged Rory Gilmore is and always has been. And then the reboot did what the original never explicitly did: highlighted Rory’s immature relationship with her privilege and essentially made her the most unlikable character on the show.”

Speaking for myself, Rory is still my role model. Yes, she’s made some bad decisions. And yes, she’s not perfect. But honestly, who is? I intend to learn from her mistakes without making the same ones! And in the meantime, I’m going to start Gilmore Girls all over again.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mums out there!

Thanks Mum, for being the Lorelai to my Rory!

“You are my guidepost for everything!”

 

Leave a comment